Editor : Satish Ohri    Edition : October 2017

Calling the bluff of Hurriyat

India is a democratic country and everyone has the right to protest. But, can anyone and, particularly those who have been funded from Pakistan, be allowed to mobilize its own people against India? By arresting JKLF Chairman Yasin Malik and keeping Syed Ali Shah Geelani and Mirwaiz Umar Farooq under house-arrest and stopping them from travelling to Delhi, the BJP-led NDA government is moving in the right direction. The Extremist leaders should be exposed for creating the myth that the Kashmiris are for “Azaadi” and are not interested to remain in India. For years together, Kashmiris have seen blood and mayhem on the streets, with the Hurriyat holding the State to ransom and the then Congress government closing its eyes, in the name of secularism. While the Army has been condemned for the Human Rights Violations, the Hurriyat has not been touched. Even during the tenure of Prime Minister Atal Behari Vajpayee, efforts were made to bring the Hurriyat to the negotiating table, but with no success. But now, it seems that the Modi government has decided to finally call their bluff. By moving through the National Investigating Agency (NIA), which has decided to take-on the Hurriyat, the BJP government has made known its intention of not succumbing to the pressure of the extremists. The PDP government under Mehbooba Mufti has been taken on board to crack down on the Hurriyat, with the National Investigation Agency (NIA) carrying out raids on them at various places in Kashmir, Jammu, Gurugram and Delhi. It has been established that they are being funded from across the borders. Unveiling a new approach to the Kashmir issue, the Modi Government has embarked on a multi-pronged strategy. While domestically, it will engage with all the stakeholders, trying to bring them on board, it will also isolate those who want to fan terrorism in the State. It is to send this message across that Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh had gone to Kashmir.

People at large want peace in the State and are keen that their children take the right path, instead of falling into the trap of the Separatists, who have sent their own children abroad, but are misleading the Kashmiri kids to spread violence in the State. This year, the stone-pelting incidents have been comparatively less and also the killings in the Valley, with more and more terrorists been gunned down. The Central Government’s expose on the raids of the Separatists’ leaders would further help in exposing them, resulting in their isolation in the Valley. The BJP government, which has no other political agenda in Kashmir, but only to restore peace in the Valley, intends to deal tough with the Separatists. Unlike all the national and regional parties like the Congress, PDP, National Conference etc., BJP has no base in the Valley and, therefore, it faces no risk of losing its votebank. By acting tough on the extremists and rolling out funds for the poor and the youth on jobs and development of the State, it will win the confidence of the people, who are fed-up with day-to-day violence in the State. In his address from the ramparts of Red Fort, Prime Minister Modi had blamed the political parties for indulging in rhetoric and politics in Kashmir. He had said that he was clear in his belief on how to win the war against separatism, which is spread by a handful of people. “The problem will be solved neither by abuse nor bullets, it will be solved by embracing all Kashmiris,” remarked Prime Minister Modi. Taking it as a challenge, the Prime Minister has already started working on it and had sent Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh to assure the people that they are with them. It is only the BJP, which can bring about a change in the Valley, by acting tough on the extremists. Having taken PDP, its alliance partner, on board, it can create wonders in the State.

Simultaneously, Prime Minister Modi has acted swiftly on the international plane to isolate Pakistan, which has emerged as the world’s epicentre of terror. The Declaration, adopted by the five BRICS nations at Xiamen in China – Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa – voiced concern about the activities of Lashkar-e-Taiba, Jaish-e-Mohammad, Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan and Hizb-ut-Tahrir. It stated, “We reaffirm that those responsible for committing, organizing, or supporting terrorist acts must be held accountable.” By exposing Pakistan at the international level and isolating Hurriyat within the country, Modi plans to bring peace in the valley and across the borders. He is being supported by most of the countries like the US, Japan, Australia, France and the UK, most of which have, themselves, been hit by the terrorist activities. Domestically, once established that the Hurriyat is only out to create violence in the State at the behest of Pakistan, no political party will have the courage to defend them. The Congress, Left and all the secular parties like the JD (U), which were sympathetic towards the Hurriyat at one time, are silent, knowing the fact that they are anti-nationals and are only obeying the orders of their masters abroad. The strategy of Prime Minister Modi to act hard against the Separatists and embracing all Kashmiris, is welcome. All the political parties should come forward to support the BJP-led NDA government, instead of leading separate delegations to Kashmir. It would have been better if the Congress delegation, led by Manmohan Singh, would have accompanied Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh to send the message of amity to the Kashmiris, instead of doing politics. The New India, which Prime Minister Modi wants to build by 2022, will be new and different, in the true sense, only if peace is restored in the Valley and the Separatists are brought into the mainstream.

-Anita Saluja

Advertise with us